Skip to main content
Return to catalogue
BScUGPartially mapped

Chemistry

Official University of Ghana programme record for Chemistry (BSc). Course evidence: Level 100 structures provide multiple pathways (Group A and Group B); both are included. Level 400 electives are listed but grouped by A and B. Programme confirmation source: IPO inventory. Course structure source: University of Ghana College of Basic and Applied Sciences Handbook (2017 handbook edition).

The programme is listed and some fields are supported by official records; other important fields are not published in the checked sources.

Open official university source
0 of 5 programmes saved
Compare where to study

At a glance

University

University of Ghana

Exact award

Bachelor of Science

Duration

4 Years

Study mode

Not published

Published course rows

89

Verification state

Partially mapped

Record GHAD-60013Source publisher: University of GhanaSource published: 2026Last checked: 2 Sept 2026

Verification summary

What is known, what is missing, and what to do next

What Inkwell has verified

  • Programme identity and exact award: Bachelor of Science
  • Complete published curriculum sequence: 89 published course rows across the published duration. 180 published credits across 79 of 89 course rows.
  • Duration: 4 Years

What the checked official source does not publish

  • Study mode: Not published in the checked official source.
  • Entry requirements: Not published in the checked official source.
  • Fees and costs: Not published in the checked official source.
  • Official application route: Not published in the checked official source.
  • Current announcements: Not published in the checked official source.

Your next official step

  • Review the linked official university source before making a decision.
  • Contact the university directly because an official application route is not published here.
Open official programme source
Detailed source recordView verification record

Confirmed fields retain their official source, publication information, and checked date. Missing information is shown plainly rather than inferred.

Programme confirmation

Status: Verified official information

Source publisher: University of Ghana

Source title: Chemistry (BSc) — UG International Programmes Office

Source published: 2026

Last checked: 2 Sept 2026

View official source

Course structure

Status: Verified official information

Source publisher: University of Ghana

Source title: University of Ghana College of Basic and Applied Sciences Handbook

Source published: 2017

Last checked: 2 Sept 2026

This course structure is drawn from the official source shown above. Universities may revise curricula, requirements, fees and application arrangements. Confirm current information with the university.

View official source

Entry requirements

Status: Not published in the checked official source

Not published in the checked official source.

Fees

Status: Not published in the checked official source

Not published in the checked official source.

Application route

Status: Not published in the checked official source

Not published in the checked official source.

Study mode

Status: Not published in the checked official source

Not published in the checked official source.

Duration

Status: Verified official information

Source publisher: University of Ghana

Source title: Chemistry (BSc) — UG International Programmes Office

Source published: 2026

Last checked: 2 Sept 2026

View official source

Announcements

Status: Not published in the checked official source

Not published in the checked official source.

Next steps

Plan your next check

Source last checked: 2 Sept 2026

Entry requirements

Not yet verified

Fees and costs

Not yet verified

Official application route

Not yet verified

Current announcements

No current verified notice

Official application route not yet verified. Confirm directly with the university.

Admissions Watch

Current official admissions information

Source-led application notices and routes for this programme or its university. Admissions details are never estimated.

0 of 5 programmes saved
View all UG admissions updates

Admissions and applying

Entry requirements, fees and official routes

These fields are separate from the programme and course records. The university remains the authority on requirements, fees, eligibility, deadlines and application outcomes.

Entry requirements

Applicant routes

Not published in the checked official source

Entry requirements are not listed here.

This specific field was not found in the checked official source. Do not infer a value.

Fees and costs

Published categories

Not published in the checked official source

Fees and costs are not listed here.

This specific field was not found in the checked official source. Do not infer a value.

Apply

Official university routes

Not published in the checked official source

An official application route is not listed here.

This specific field was not found in the checked official source. Do not infer a value.

Published curriculum

Complete published curriculum sequence

Complete published curriculum sequence: 89 published course rows across the published duration. 180 published credits across 79 of 89 course rows.

89 published course rows · 180 published credits across 79 of 89 course rows
View course-structure sources

Published course rows

Status: Course structure confirmed

Source publisher: University of Ghana

Source title: University of Ghana College of Basic and Applied Sciences Handbook

Source published: 2017

Last checked: 2 Sept 2026

This course structure is drawn from the official source shown above. Universities may revise curricula, requirements, fees and application arrangements. Confirm current information with the university.

View official source

Published course rows

Status: Course structure confirmed

Source publisher: University of Ghana

Source title: BSc Biological Sciences — audited course source

Source published: Not published in the checked official source.

Last checked: 13 Sept 2026

View official source

89 of 89 published course rows shown

Programme pathway

Group A

Level 100 · 14 courses+
Semester 1
UGRC 150
Critical Thinking and Practical Reasoning
3 credits
ABCS 101
Introductory Animal Biology
3 credits
CHEM 110
Practical Chemistry
1 credit
CHEM 111
General Chemistry I
3 credits
PHYS 101
Practical Physics I
1 credit
PHYS 143
Mechanics and Thermal Physics
3 credits
MATH 101
General Mathematics
3 credits
Semester 2
URGC 110
Academic Writing I
3 credits
UGRC 131-136
Understanding Human Society
3 credits
BOTN 104
Growth of Flowering Plants
3 credits
CHEM 112
General Chemistry II
3 credits
CHEM 110
Practical Chemistry
1 credit
PHYS 102
Practical Physics II
1 credit
PHYS 144
Electricity and Magnetism
3 credits

Programme pathway

Group B

Level 100 · 11 courses+
Semester 1
UGRC 150
Critical Thinking and Practical Reasoning
3 credits
PHYS 101
Practical Physics I
1 credit
PHYS 143
Mechanics and Thermal Physics
2 credits
CHEM 111
General Chemistry I
3 credits
CHEM 110
Practical Chemistry
1 credit
Semester 2
URGC 110
Academic Writing I
3 credits
UGRC 131-136
Understanding Human Society
3 credits
CHEM 112
General Chemistry II
3 credits
CHEM 110
Practical Chemistry
1 credit
PHYS 102
Practical Physics II
1 credit
PHYS 144
Electricity and Magnetism
2 credits

Programme pathway

Group B Elective

Level 100 · 9 courses+
Semester 1
MATH 121
Algebra and Trigonometry
3 credits
STAT 101
Introduction to Statistics
3 credits
MATH 123
Vectors and Geometry
3 credits
CSCD 110
Computer Applications
3 credits
EASC 101
Physical Geology
3 credits
Semester 2
EASC 104
Historical Geology
2 credits
MATH 122
Calculus I
3 credits
MATH 124
Mechanics
3 credits
STAT 102
Elementary Probability
3 credits

Programme pathway

Single Major

Level 200 · 7 courses+
Semester 1
CHEM 213
Physical Chemistry I
2 credits
CHEM 233
Organic Chemistry I
2 credits
CHEM 271
Analytical Chemistry I
2 credits
CHEM 203
Practical I
1 credit
Semester 2
CHEM 234
Organic Chemistry II
2 credits
CHEM 252
Inorganic Chemistry I (s-block Elements)
2 credits
CHEM 204
Practical II
1 credit
Level 300 · 13 courses+
Semester 1
CHEM 301
Mathematics for Chemists
2 credits
CHEM 341
Spectroscopy and Structure Elucidation
3 credits
CHEM 343
Chemistry of Aromatic Compounds
3 credits
CHEM 355
Inorganic Chemistry (p-block Elements)
3 credits
CHEM 311
Physical Practical
2 credits
CHEM 351
Inorganic Practical
2 credits
Semester 2
CHEM 312
Thermodynamics I
2 credits
CHEM 344
Carbanions and their Reactions
2 credits
CHEM 346
Molecular Rearrangement Reactions
2 credits
CHEM 352
Coordination Chemistry
2 credits
CHEM 374
Analytical Chemistry
3 credits
CHEM 332
Organic Practical
2 credits
CHEM 372
Analytical Practical
2 credits
Level 400 · 10 courses+
Semester 1
CHEM 400
Project
3 credits
CHEM 401
Thermodynamics II
2 credits
CHEM 403
Symmetry, Group Theory, and Applications
2 credits
CHEM 405
Reaction Kinetics
2 credits
CHEM 441
Chemistry of Natural Products
3 credits
Semester 2
CHEM 400
Project
3 credits
CHEM 402
Quantum Chemistry
2 credits
CHEM 412
Surface Chemistry and Colloids
2 credits
CHEM 454
Transition Metal Chemistry
3 credits
CHEM 472
Instrumental Methods of Chemical Analysis
3 credits

Programme pathway

Single Major Elective Group A

Level 400 · 7 courses+
Semester 1
CHEM 439
Organometallic Chemistry
2 credits
CHEM 471
Nuclear Chemistry
2 credits
CHEM 473
X-ray Crystallography
2 credits
Semester 2
CHEM 418
Photochemistry
2 credits
CHEM 424
Molecular Spectroscopy
2 credits
CHEM 452
Solid state Chemistry
2 credits
CHEM 474
Elements of Forensic Chemistry
2 credits

Programme pathway

Single Major Elective Group B

Level 400 · 8 courses+
Semester 1
CHEM 423
Polymer Chemistry and Technology
2 credits
CHEM 491
Petroleum Chemistry and Technology
2 credits
CHEM 493
Mineral Processing
2 credits
CHEM 495
Pulp and Paper Chemistry and Technology
2 credits
Semester 2
CHEM 438
Medicinal Chemistry
2 credits
CHEM 492
Industrial Chemistry
2 credits
CHEM 494
Textile Chemistry and Technology
2 credits
CHEM 496
Environmental Chemistry
2 credits

Programme pathway

Programme curriculum

Level not stated · 10 courses+
Level 100 S1
UGRC 150
Critical Thinking and Practical Reasoning
Credits not stated
MATH 101
General Mathematics
Credits not stated
CHEM 111
General Chemistry I
Credits not stated
CHEM 110
Practical Chemistry
Credits not stated
PHYS 101
Practical Physics I
Credits not stated
PHYS 143
Mechanics and Thermal Physics
Credits not stated
Level 100 S2
UGRC 110
Academic Writing I
Credits not stated
CHEM 112
General Chemistry II
Credits not stated
PHYS 102
Practical Physics II
Credits not stated
PHYS 144
Electricity and Magnetism
Credits not stated
Official course classificationElectives (24)Shown only where the official course source explicitly labels the course elective, optional, selected, or choice-based.

CHEM 423 · Level 400 · Semester 1

Polymer Chemistry and Technology

Official label: Single Major Elective Group B

View official course source

CHEM 491 · Level 400 · Semester 1

Petroleum Chemistry and Technology

Official label: Single Major Elective Group B

View official course source

CHEM 495 · Level 400 · Semester 1

Pulp and Paper Chemistry and Technology

Official label: Single Major Elective Group B

View official course source

CHEM 494 · Level 400 · Semester 2

Textile Chemistry and Technology

Official label: Single Major Elective Group B

View official course source

External study support

Downloadable study resources

These are external candidate matches for the exact published course code and title shown below. They are not university-approved reading lists, and Inkwell does not host the files.

Downloadable study resource

Elementary Mathematics I

National Open University of Nigeria course team (individual writers credited in PDF) · n.d. / confirm edition in PDF

National Open University of Nigeria

Candidate resource match

Candidate external study resource for the audited Mathematics course context.

MATH 101 · General Mathematics · Chemistry

Last checked 13 Sept 2026

Verification controls
Course structure: ConfirmedResource link: CheckedPDF edition: ConfirmedAcademic review: pendingResource-editor review: pendingPage range: PendingPublication: hold

Downloadable study resource

University Physics, Volume 2

Samuel J. Ling; Jeff Sanny; William Moebs · Original 2016; retrieved PDF copyright 2026

OpenStax

Candidate resource match

Candidate external study resource for the audited Physics course context.

PHYS 143 · Mechanics and Thermal Physics · Chemistry

Last checked 13 Sept 2026

Verification controls
Course structure: ConfirmedResource link: CheckedPDF edition: ConfirmedAcademic review: pendingResource-editor review: pendingPage range: PendingPublication: hold

Downloadable study resource

University Physics, Volume 2

Samuel J. Ling; Jeff Sanny; William Moebs · Original 2016; retrieved PDF copyright 2026

OpenStax

Candidate resource match

Candidate external study resource for the audited Electricity and magnetism course context.

PHYS 144 · Electricity and Magnetism · Chemistry

Last checked 13 Sept 2026

Verification controls
Course structure: ConfirmedResource link: CheckedPDF edition: ConfirmedAcademic review: pendingResource-editor review: pendingPage range: PendingPublication: hold

Keep exploring

Related paths in the directory

Official source
0 of 5 programmes saved
Drag to reposition this Course Finder widget. Press Alt and Home while focused to reset its position. Press Enter or Space to open Course Finder.